Robotics team wins 2020 world title!

via Scripps Ranch School

Team Inspiration, a second year middle and high school team based in the Stonebridge Estates neighborhood, swept the 2020 RoboSub competition with the following awards:

  • First place overall
  • First place in technical design report (Caltech won second place)
  • First place in website
  • Second place in video presentation

See link for the final standings of the competition.

RoboSub is an international underwater autonomous robotics competition in which college and high school students design and build their self-driving vehicles to navigate through a series of tasks. There were 33 teams representing Brazil, Canada, Egypt, India, México, Norway, Poland, Singapore and the United States and its territories. All but three teams were from top universities around the world, including Caltech, Carnegie Mellon, Duke, Georgia Tech, Arizona State University, SDSU, UCSD, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay and National University of Singapore.

Normally, the competition is held at the Naval Information Warfare Center (NIWC) Pacific TRANSDEC in Point Loma in early August. Due to the global pandemic, the 2020 competition was moved to a virtual venue. In lieu of vehicle performance, teams were evaluated on a technical design report, video presentation and website.

View Team Inspiration’s submission on its webpage:

Besides competing, Team Inspiration did extensive outreach in promoting STEM in local and global communities. The team recently teamed up with Porpoise Robotics, a San Diego based non-profit organization, in developing an affordable underwater remotely-operated vehicle for STEM education for local and international schools.

Team Inspiration is comprised of team Captain Colin Szeto (Del Norte High, Scripps Ranch resident), Deputy Captain Ashiria Goel (Scripps Ranch High), Aditya Mavalankar (Rancho Bernardo High), Ashika Palacharla (Del Norte High), Eesh Vij (Westview High), Mabel Szeto (Del Norte High, Scripps Ranch resident), Noah Tang (The Cambridge School), Pahel Srivastava (Scripps Ranch High), Raina Shapur (Black Mountain Middle School), Rishi Veerepalli (Scripps Ranch High), Shreyas Rangan (Scripps Ranch High), and Shruti Natala (Scripps Ranch High).

View Post

Related News